Musicians’ Guide: Status Report I

“A lot more work” seems to be stretching into ever more work.  I’m wondering now whether it was a good idea to write the documents in two stages, separating the instructive algorithms from the other explanations and information.  It seemed to make some sort of sense when I was contemplating how to break the project into stages.  Furthermore, the ability to work on a variety of software over a relatively short period seems to be having its own benefits.  So long as I stick to my plan, it should all turn out.

Both as a personal note, and as a means of transparency, here is what remains to be done for algorithms:
– JACK: Write about QjackCtl’s “Patch Bay” (easy)
– Ardour: Mixing, Editing, Exporting (awaiting audio files for Mix & Ed; Exp is easy)
– SuperCollider: exporting (will be “record it with Ardour”) and explanation of thought-process for “Method One” (moderate)
– FluidSynth: how to get & install a SoundFont (install is easy; get I don’t know… )
– Qtractor: Use-case demonstration (easy; just takes time)
– LilyPond: piano score (moderate) and orchestral score (difficult)
– Frescobaldi: Maybe I’ll just say to refer to LilyPond, since I’m using Frescobaldi in those tutorials; in that case, F is done.

I’m glad that I did that.  There’s still a lot to do!  It makes me think that I should adjust the following milestone for draft documents, or at least create a priority-list.  In particular, I’m thinking that Rosegarden should be put on the back-burner.

2 Comments

    • I first encountered MuseScore while researching which programs to include in this guide. There are various reasons that it isn’t in the Guide, but mostly it’s an issue of insufficient time: since I already knew how to use LilyPond, I decided to go with that instead. MuseScore might make it into a future release, or even the first release (with Fedora 14), if somebody else would like to take charge of that section.

      Thanks for your comment!

Comments are closed.