At Least I’m Learning about Ardour

Progress on the Musicians’ Guide is slow-going, but, well… at least I’m learning about Ardour.  It’s not an easy program to use, but it’s one of the more powerful ones – ah, who am I kidding – all of these programs are powerful!  Even so, Ardour is a somewhat-hidden gem of the open-source world.  It’s not widely renowned among musicians, but it really should be.  Ardour doesn’t even require a change of approach, like LilyPond might.  Ardour works exactly as its commercially-available counterparts, but it’s available for free, for you to use and modify.  This is what open-source is about!

With that in mind, the Ardour tutorial has been causing me a great deal more pain than I thought it would.  Trying to sort out all of the audio clips that I got, and then assemble them into a cohesive song is actually quite trying.  Never mind trying to mix and master the recording, setting volumes for each track and finding the right balances – I have a whole new respect for audio engineers.  And also a whole new lack of faith in the fidelity possible from recordings.  No matter how hard the audio engineer tries to emulate a real performance, there are simply too many variables, many of them in the recording process itself.

