First Draft Complete (Almost)!

The Musicians’ Guide has reached a significant milestone: all of the originally-planned chapters have now been completed to the “first draft” stage!  A lot of work still remains before the document reaches a coherently usable form, but for now I’m going to take a (ten-hour) break.  To sleep.

As I look back on my original plans and how development has been progressing until now, one thing sticks out more than anything else: this is a HUGE project.

Another thought: if I had been subjected to a regular job interview during the application process, I don’t think I would have been allowed to do this.  It’s a tribute to the Fedora Project not only that this project was approved, but that I have been able to take it to this stage.  The support that I receive daily from my colleagues within Fedora, from the Docs team, on the #fedora-selinux IRC channel, within the Audio Creation SIG, and from viewers like you on Planet Fedora has already played a significant role in my ability to “just keep writing.”  Thank you.

Yet another thought: had my head been screwed on correctly during the application process, I would not in a million years have included SuperCollider.  It’s going to be a highlight of the Guide for sure (at least for me… the “stars” are Ardour, LilyPond, and SuperCollider), but SC has already put me seven days behind schedule, and just fifteen minutes ago I realized that I hadn’t, in fact, finished everything.  Yeah that’s right – SEVEN DAYS BEHIND SCHEDULE.  Why?  There’s actually a small textbook in that chapter.  Go look for yourself.

So what’s on the schedule for this week?  First is to finish writing all of the sections that I realized needed to be added while doing the original writing.  Second is to make drafts of the diagrams, illustrations, and infographics that the Guide will need.  Third is to revise.

You can help!  You don’t have to know anything about audio or music – just English.  This is a colossal project, and as such, it’s going to take a long time to weed out simple spelling and grammatical errors.  I would greatly appreciate any time that somebody can dedicate to any part of any chapter.  Please feel free to edit the wiki pages directly – no need to mark what you’ve done, since the wiki will automatically show me.  If you have longer suggestions or comments, please feel free to use the Talk: page, to send me an email, or to contact me on IRC (my nick is “crantila,” and I frequent Freenode’s #fedora-audio, #fedora-summer-coding, #fedora-docs, and other channels).

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/User:Crantila/FSC/Drafts

